B-lenders, credit unions and private lenders: who skips the stress test
Many B-lenders must use it: Equitable Bank, Home Trust, Haventree Bank and Peoples Trust are on OSFI's list of federally regulated lenders, so their uninsured mortgages are tested at your rate + 2 points or 5.25%. They can flex ratio limits and income documentation. Credit unions follow their province; private lenders and MICs are outside B-20.
Do B-lenders have to use the stress test?
Many do. A number of the lenders called B-lenders are federally regulated banks and trust companies, and OSFI's Guideline B-20 applies to "all federally-regulated financial institutions". OSFI's own list of who it regulates includes Equitable Bank and Equitable Trust, Home Trust Company and Home Bank, Haventree Bank, Peoples Trust Company, Community Trust Company, Concentra Bank and B2B Bank.
So an uninsured mortgage at one of them is tested at the greater of your rate + 2 points or 5.25%, the same as at a big bank. An insured mortgage is tested at any lender, because that rule lives in the federal insurance regulations.
OSFI's list of federally regulated banks and trust companies (page modified August 21, 2026): Source: OSFI, Who we regulate (federally regulated banks and trust companies), effective August 21, 2026. Checked .B-20's scope and qualifying rate: Source: OSFI, Guideline B-20: Residential mortgage underwriting practices and procedures, effective January 1, 2018. Checked .The terms this page uses
- B-lender
- An informal label for lenders that approve borrowers the big banks turn down, usually at a higher rate. Many are federally regulated trust companies or banks.
- Private lender
- An individual or company lending its own or pooled money on mortgages, outside federal regulation.
- MIC
- A mortgage investment corporation: a pooled fund that lends on mortgages. It isn't federally regulated, so B-20 doesn't apply.
- Exit plan
- The lender you'll move to, what has to change first, and by when. Moving from a private lender to a bank is new lending, so it includes passing the stress test.
What can a B-lender do differently?
The qualifying rate doesn't flex, but a lot around it does. B-20 tells each lender to "establish debt serviceability metrics (including the method to calculate these metrics)". It sets no number for uninsured loans, only that ratios be calculated conservatively and that a lender's average GDS and TDS sit below its own stated maximums. That leaves room for a federally regulated B-lender to:
- accept higher GDS/TDS ratios than a big bank on uninsured loans;
- use different ways to document income, which matters if you're self-employed or your income is new;
- lend to borrowers with bruised credit, typically at a higher rate and with fees.
None of this is guaranteed, and it varies by lender and by file. The trade-off is cost: you pay more to be approved on terms a bank wouldn't offer. Note what's missing from that list: a lower qualifying rate. If the payment at the qualifying rate is the problem, a federally regulated B-lender has the same rule as the bank.

Are credit unions an alternative?
Sometimes. Credit unions and caisses are regulated by their province, so B-20 doesn't bind their uninsured lending. Some provinces prescribe the same test; others leave the buffer to each credit union:
| Province | Rule for uninsured mortgages | Straight-switch exemption in the text |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | No set rate: lender's own buffer | n/a: no set rate |
| Alberta | Older formula (posted-rate floor), unconfirmed | Not stated |
| Saskatchewan | Same formula as OSFI | Not stated |
| Manitoba | No set rate: lender's own buffer | n/a: no set rate |
| Ontario | No set rate: lender's own buffer | n/a: no set rate |
| Quebec | Same formula as OSFI | No |
| New Brunswick | No published rule found | No published rule |
| Nova Scotia | No set rate: lender's own buffer | n/a: no set rate |
| Prince Edward Island | No published rule found | No published rule |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | No published rule found | No published rule |
"No set rate" means the regulator expects a buffer but lets each credit union choose it; many still use the federal formula. Sources and dates for each province are on the stress test by province page.
A credit union in a principles-based province may qualify you with a smaller buffer, but ask it directly: there's no published rate to check, and insured loans are tested at the federal rate regardless. Alberta, where this page's example household lives, is a special case: the last credit-union guidance we found (2018) used contract + 2 points or the Bank of Canada's 5-year posted rate, which at 6.19% on October 28, 2026 is above the 5.25% floor. For this household at 4.58%, that would mean being tested at 6.58%, exactly what B-20 asks. Whether that guidance is still current is unconfirmed.
Alberta credit-union guidance G#03-2018: Source: Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation (Alberta), Residential mortgage underwriting guidance G#03-2018, effective March 1, 2018. Checked .Do private lenders and MICs use the stress test?
Not under B-20. Private lenders, mortgage investment corporations (MICs) and provincially incorporated trust or loan companies aren't federally regulated, so OSFI's guideline doesn't reach them. OSFI doesn't name them; that's our reading of B-20's scope. Lenders that aren't federally regulated "may also ask you to pass a stress test", as the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada puts it, so ask how a private lender qualifies you.
B-20 does close one door: a federally regulated lender can't team up with another lender in any form that circumvents its loan-to-value limits. So a bank can't arrange a second mortgage with another lender to get you past its own limit.
Lenders outside federal regulation may still stress test: Source: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, Preparing to get a mortgage: how the stress test impacts your qualification, effective October 15, 2025. Checked .How much more can you borrow without the test, and what does it cost?
Lenders that skip the buffer usually charge more for the privilege. The question is whether the extra room survives the higher rate. Take one Edmonton household and compare a lender that applies B-20 with one that qualifies at a contract rate 2 points higher.
$96,000 of household income, $250 a month of other debts and $140,000 down, so the loan is uninsured. The B-20 lender offers 4.58%, the Bank of Canada's August 2026 average for new uninsured 5-year fixed mortgages. The other lender qualifies at its contract rate, set here at 6.58% as a what-if, not any lender's offer.
| Household income, other debts | $96,000, $250 a month |
|---|---|
| Down payment, amortization | $140,000, 25 years |
| Property tax, heating | 1.036% of price a year, $130 a monthEdmonton 2026 residential: 1.03637% (municipal + education). |
| Rates compared | 4.58% with B-20 vs 6.58% without |
| B-20 lender: qualifying rate | 6.58%4.58% + 2 points |
| B-20 lender: highest price that passes | $517,000Limited by GDS; mortgage $377,000 |
| No-test lender: qualifying rate | 6.58%Its own contract rate |
| No-test lender: highest price that passes | $517,000Identical: both test the same payment |
| Payment on the same $377,000 mortgage | $2,103 vs $2,544Monthly, semi-annual compounding |
| What skipping the test buys | No extra roomIt costs $440 a month, $5,282 a year, before any lender or broker fees |
When the no-test lender's rate is 2 points higher, it qualifies you at the same 6.58% the B-20 lender used, so the ceiling is exactly the same. You've given up nothing on approval and gained nothing either, but you'd pay $5,282 more a year on the same mortgage. (Open the B-20 version to compare.)
Skipping the test only buys real room if the rate stays close to a bank's. That's the case to look for, and to verify in writing: a lender that skips or shrinks the buffer and prices near the banks. The table below shows how fast the room disappears as the rate rises.
Open the no-test lender's version in the calculator →Computed November 1, 2026.
| Lender and contract rate | Rate you're qualified at | Highest price that passes | Monthly payment at that price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applies B-20, 4.58% | 6.58% | $517,000 | $2,103 |
| Qualifies at contract rate, 4.58% | 4.58% | $585,300 | $2,484 |
| Qualifies at contract rate, 5.58% (average + 1) | 5.58% | $549,000 | $2,516 |
| Qualifies at contract rate, 6.58% (average + 2) | 6.58% | $517,000 | $2,544 |
25-year amortization, Edmonton tax 1.036% of price a year, heating $130 a month, GDS/TDS limits 39% / 44%. The higher contract rates are what-ifs, not any lender's offer. Computed by our engine.
What happens when you try to move back to a bank?
This is the cost that doesn't show up on day one. Say the household takes the biggest approval on offer, $585,300 at a lender that qualifies at 4.58% with no buffer. Five years later, with the same income, the same property tax and the same rate on offer, it wants to move to a bank.
That move is new lending at the bank. OSFI's straight-switch exemption covers switches between federally regulated lenders, and Finance Canada's summary describes it that way, so expect a mortgage coming from a credit union or private lender to be tested again, and ask the bank. On the $391,473 still owing, with 20 years left, the bank would test the household at 6.58%: GDS 44.4% and TDS 47.5%. It would fail, and would need about $109,300 of income to pass, $13,300 more than today.
Finance Canada's December 2024 summary of OSFI's switch change: Source: Department of Finance Canada, Mortgage reforms in force: $1.5M insured price cap, 30-year amortization, effective December 15, 2024. Checked .A federally regulated B-lender is different. Renewing with it later isn't retested, and an uninsured straight switch from it to another federally regulated lender is exempt, as long as the balance and amortization don't change. That's a real advantage over a private lender or MIC, worth weighing alongside the rate.
OSFI's straight-switch exemption covers switches to federally regulated lenders: Source: OSFI, OSFI exempts uninsured mortgage straight switches from the prescribed MQR and implements portfolio LTI limits, effective November 21, 2024. Checked .When is a B-lender or private loan a bridge, not a fix?
It's a bridge when the reason a bank said no is temporary and you can name the date it ends: a longer record of self-employed income on your tax returns, a collection paid and aged off, a car loan finished. Then a higher-cost term buys time, and you move to a cheaper lender when it's up.
It isn't a fix when the problem is that the payment is too big for your income. A higher rate makes that worse, and the exit test above shows why. If you'd fail the federal test today, check the levers first: how to pass the stress test works through each one, and the stress test calculator solves the co-signer income, down payment or debt payoff that would get you there.
Before signing, get every rate, fee and penalty in writing, and write down your exit: the lender you'd move to, what has to change by then, and the date.
What this means for you
- If a bank declined you over credit or how your income is documented: a federally regulated B-lender may say yes under the same stress test, at a higher cost. Check its legal name on OSFI's list so you know renewals and straight switches stay exempt.
- If you fail because of the payment at the qualifying rate: a B-lender won't fix it, and a private lender at a higher rate rarely does. Work the levers in how to pass the stress test first.
- If a credit union offers a smaller buffer: compare its rate with a bank's, and run the exit test yourself in the renewal and switch checker with your balance in five years.
- If you're taking a private or MIC loan as a bridge: write down the date and the change that gets you back to a regulated lender, and price every fee before you sign.
- If you're comparing lender types in general: see banks vs monoline lenders and the province table.
Frequently asked questions
Do B-lenders have to follow the stress test?
Yes, if they're federally regulated, as many are. Equitable Bank, Home Trust Company, Haventree Bank and Peoples Trust Company are on OSFI's list, so B-20's qualifying rate (rate + 2 points or 5.25%) applies to their uninsured mortgages.
Which mortgage lenders don't use the stress test?
Private lenders and mortgage investment corporations aren't bound by OSFI's B-20. Some provincial credit unions set their own buffer. Insured mortgages are stress tested at every lender.
Is a B-lender mortgage more expensive?
Usually. B-lenders and private lenders typically charge more than banks for the same loan, and private loans can add lender and broker fees. Get every rate, fee and penalty in writing.
Does skipping the stress test let me borrow more?
Only if the rate stays close to a bank's. A lender that qualifies at its contract rate but charges 2 points more tests the same payment B-20 would, so the ceiling doesn't rise; you just pay more.
Can I switch from a B-lender to a bank without the stress test?
If your B-lender is federally regulated and your mortgage is uninsured, a straight switch at renewal to another federally regulated lender (same balance and amortization) is exempt from the qualifying rate. Moving from a private lender or MIC is new lending, so you'd be tested.
Primary sources
- OSFI — Who we regulate (federally regulated banks and trust companies) (effective August 21, 2026). Checked .
- OSFI — Guideline B-20: Residential mortgage underwriting practices and procedures (effective January 1, 2018). Checked .
- OSFI — Minimum qualifying rate for uninsured mortgages (effective January 29, 2026). Checked .
- Justice Laws — Insurable Housing Loan Regulations (SOR/2012-282), ss. 5, 6 and 6(3.1) (effective February 27, 2025). Checked .
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — Preparing to get a mortgage: how the stress test impacts your qualification (effective October 15, 2025). Checked .
- OSFI — OSFI exempts uninsured mortgage straight switches from the prescribed MQR and implements portfolio LTI limits (effective November 21, 2024). Checked .
- OSFI — Final revised Guideline B-20 (letter of October 17, 2017) (effective October 17, 2017). Checked .
- Department of Finance Canada — Mortgage reforms in force: $1.5M insured price cap, 30-year amortization (effective December 15, 2024). Checked .
- Autorité des marchés financiers (Québec) — Residential hypothecary lending guideline (revised September 2026) (effective September 1, 2026). Checked .
- Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation (Saskatchewan) — Guideline 2015-01: Residential mortgage underwriting (Appendix I) (effective June 1, 2021). Checked .
- Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation (Alberta) — Residential mortgage underwriting guidance G#03-2018 (effective March 1, 2018). Checked .
- BC Financial Services Authority — Residential mortgage underwriting guideline (credit unions) (effective January 1, 2015). Checked .
- Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario — Residential mortgage lending guidance for credit unions (CU0063INT) (effective February 1, 2021). Checked .
- Bank of Canada — Banking and financial statistics: effective rates on new mortgages. Checked .
- Bank of Canada — Posted interest rates offered by chartered banks (5-year conventional mortgage). Checked .
- City of Edmonton — Property taxes (2026 rates). Checked .